This month’s walk on the coastal foot path around St Agnes was full of surprises . The views were stunning – high cliffs, sandy coves, imposing ruins of Wheal Coates and the landscape covered in heather.
For part of the walk we were joined by Neil Roberts. Neil is a cousin of Pat’s family and has written books on the history of the area. Not only did he point out the various land marks but he talked about the camp that was built for the Americans during the second world war. In 1951 the camp and any equipment was demolished and thrown down the mine shafts.
We were surprised to see a row of neatly parked vintage cars – Austin and Morris 8s on the Clift top on the way back . The owners were taking a break and encouraged us to have a look and even sit behind the wheel!
Eventually we returned to our cars but did have a break for afternoon tea and cake on the way home. (Shirley)